Employment and Personal Injury Attorney John Furstenthal

Employment & Personal Injury Lawyer

A Worker’s Right To Take Leave to Care for Family Member

California and federal laws provide some workers the right to take unpaid leave from work. If s/he meets the qualifications, s/he can return to work at your prior position. The employer may not fire that employee. S/he can take up to 12 weeks of leave and continue to have the health insurance regularly provided. The employer cannot retaliate against the employee for exercising those rights.
Generally speaking, an employee must have worked for the employer for the last 12 months for at least 1250 hours, work for a company with at least 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the worksite, and have a parent, child, spouse, or registered domestic partner with a serious health condition.
Other laws allow certain workers to take time off for their own medical condition.
This entry just provides a summary of the law; additional specifics and some exceptions are also part of the law.

Rate this blog entry:
Medical Malpractice Law and Damages
California To Raise Hourly Minimum Wage


Let Us Help You Experience You Can Trust


    Contra Costa County Employment Contracts Attorney Walnut Creek, Lafayette, Concord, California Negotiating an employment contract is a critical element to Read More

    Concord Employment Discrimination Attorney Discrimination Lawyer Serving the East Bay Area, California Is your manager or supervisor making your life Read More

    Has your family become burdened by the tragedy of a catastrophic injury or wrongful death caused by someone else's negligence?John Read More
  • 1